No. Once a template has been selected, you cannot overwrite it.
If this happens, Rievent recommends:
(1) If possible, save it for another activity. You can change the Activity Name and ID, as well as any other information already entered, if needed.
(2) Contact us with the Activity Name and ask us to delete it.